Mountain 1, Conquered!

So, my first month here in Cheonan has been quite eventful. Both as an accomplishment of a personal goal and as something of a marker, I climbed Mt. Taejo (Taejosan) and spent several hours traversing the trails on its peak (I took lots of pictures too!). The view up there was incredible, and I highly recommend it for anyone who likes a walk through the woods. Also, going hiking with a soundtrack is pretty much one of the best ideas ever. This past Thursday I also went with some friends to Daecheon beach on the west coast of South Korea, and that was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. I was able to use an inter-tube provided at the beach to ride the waves into shore and I only wiped out a few dozen times before I got the hang of it. Hopefully within the next few weeks I’ll find an occasion to visit a beach on the east coast of South Korea and see how that works out.

View from Taejosan:

Image

View of the beach:

Image

Work has been quite interesting and fun, and I’m enjoying getting to teach these children. Many of them are quite the characters and it’s interesting to hear some of the English that they know versus the English that they don’t. They can ask for candy and talk about certain video games (like Minecraft) all day long, but can’t get themselves through a very basic airport setting (when they start). I’m still in training for a program known as TESOL (Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages), which, once I get the certificate, should open up a lot of doors as far as teaching English in other countries outside of the U.S. and South Korea. (You only thought I’d come back to the United States once I left, but now I’m free! Free, I tell you! Muahahahahahahaaaaaaaa!)

I’m currently looking to expand my capabilities in taking photographs, if only because there a plenty of good pictures to take, but at my current skill level I’m not able to communicate what I’m seeing through the lens of my camera. Hopefully I’ll be able to find a photography class somewhere around here that will help me improve that and enable me to better share my experiences with y’all. Plus, I think photography would be a fun hobby to have, so there’s that too.

I’m getting a lot better at this whole scheduling time with people thing, which is not something that comes naturally to me, but it’s been very helpful in getting to know people better. There are a lot of interesting people teaching English here in Cheonan, and it has been wonderful getting to know them all. In spite of the culture shock that I still find myself sometimes struggling through, this is definitely shaping up to be one of the best times of my life. I’m working on finding ways to access the master’s program that I’d like, so hopefully I’ll have more to say on that next time I do a personal update. I’m finding that theological reflection is something that I enjoy, so you will probably be seeing more posts of the theological nature sometime soon. Stay tuned!

Peace and love unto y’all,

Andrew

One thought on “Mountain 1, Conquered!

  1. Thanks for the latest blog. You write such information articles and I love reading all about So. Korea. Thanks also for the beautiful pictures! Sounds like you’re having a great time and I’m so happy for you. Love you so much. Grammie

Leave a Reply

