Synon(amiss) – Why our approach to justice and mercy is missing the mark

Wow. We definitely need to think and look and do more on this.

Megan Westra

“Jesus and justice go together” he said.

 

It’s no news to me at this point, in some ways it’s astonishing to me that this is still news to some of my brothers and sisters in the U.S. Church.

I forget sometimes that my journey into God’s heart for justice is only a few years long.

I was in college interning with a nonprofit and watching Invisible Children with tears slipping down my cheeks into my cup of drink-to-do-good coffee.

I felt like I was going to change the world.  I watched the documentaries, bought the t-shirts, wore the bracelets, walked 3 miles without shoes on, talked about it to anyone who would listen, sponsored a Compassion kid and drank my fair-trade coffee.

Wonder Woman had better watch her back.  Now that Jesus had got ahold of me and instilled the call to “do justly, love mercy and walk humbly”…

View original post 1,211 more words

Leave a Reply

